Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for September 20th, 2010

Getting in shape..

Now I am not a heavy girl nor am I grossly out of shape, but I think ALL of us could find something that needs toned, or an area that needs to shed some weight. That is why I have enrolled in Boot Camp at Marc Mero’s Body Slam in Altamonte Springs.

I am active, I run and bike, and try to eat clean. When I work out however, when it hurts I stop. I need someone to push me, motivate me and tell me to continue pushing. And that is what I got out of my first boot camp class.

My first class was last Friday and I wasn’t sure what to expect. The hubby kept saying it’s so fun, you’ll love it, but I am not sure how much I trusted him…boot camps aren’t known to be fun and games.

You need to definitely stretch out before you do this, because you are doing so many different moves and workouts in such a small amount of time, your muscles need to be ready for what’s coming!

The hubby and I were ready!

All you need for boot camp is a yoga mat and some water…maybe a towel to wipe all the sweat off at the end.

This is the face of a man who looks sweet, but during the class he will push you, and tell you to keep going even when you are ready to give up. He wants you to succeed, and that is what we are there for.

Everyone lines up and down the walls with their yoga mats. When they blow the whistle and start the music everyone is focused on the exercise move being yelled out. You continue that move until she blows the whistle and you change it up. It’s fast paced, and you don’t spend too much time on the same move which is great for those who get bored.

Marc gives individual pep talks as well as a group ‘Think Poz’ pep talk before we get going.


Let me just say running in place is the easiest move you will do all half an hour. But I cannot wait to see what results I get in 90 days. And the group aspect of the class is great because everyone is yelling and cheering for each other. We are all in the same boat and pushing ourselves, and it’s great to have someone else push you as well.

Doing it with the hubby is great too, a lot of couples do it together! It gives us time to talk on the way there, away from the TV and just spend time together doing something good for us, together.

The hubby and Marc, sweaty and tired, but feeling good after a great workout.

I have learned I have no upper body strength and need to focus on that the most.

If you didn’t get a chance to get in on this session, they still are accepting people for the 6am and 6:45pm class. Hopefully they will continue doing boot camps after this first 90 days are over!

Go to the Body Slam website for more information.

I’ll let you know my progress in a few weeks.

Read Full Post »